The Our House Tavern was established in 1819 by Henry Cushing and his sister Elizabeth Cushing Foster. It was run as a tavern and inn to travelers. The tavern also served as a gathering place for the local people so that they might get the latest news and discuss current events with the travelers. Today, it is a place to see living history. The museum is staffed by volunteers known as "docents," this is the French word meaning "to serve." Come and spend some time with the docents as they step back in history. Points of interest within the museum are General Lafayette's jacket that was left behind during his visit in 1825, the Summer Kitchen, the Tavern Room and artifacts in the attic.
432 First Avenue, Gallipolis, OH 45631
Open Memorial Day to Labor Day by Appointment Only